As a licensee of the State Medical Board of Ohio, you have a statutory and ethical duty to report misconduct. You are obligated to report violations of law, rule and code of ethics standards to the Medical Board. Examples of misconduct include, but are not limited to, sexual misconduct, impairment, practice below the minimal standards of care, and improper prescribing of controlled substances. If you suspect or have observed inappropriate behavior by a health care professional or colleague, you should contact your local law enforcement immediately and file a complaint with the State Medical Board. Knowing a colleague is violating regulations and not reporting to the Medical Board not only puts patients at risk but also puts your license to practice in jeopardy. Licensees should not assume that by informing their supervisor their duty to report is fulfilled. Failure to report a colleague’s misconduct can result in fines of up to $20,000 and disciplinary action. Ohio law is clear when a licensee needs to report information directly to the Medical Board. Effective May 31, 2021, MDs, DOs and DPMs are required to complete one hour of Continuing Medical Education (CME) prior to renewal on the topic of a licensee’s duty to report misconduct under section 4731.224 of the Revised Code. The enforcement of this requirement will commence with renewal applications submitted on or after July 1, 2021. The board has created a one-hour course designed to educate physicians (MDs, DOs, DPMs) on the duty to report to the State Medical Board of Ohio. You are encouraged to read the Frequently Asked Questions and Tips and Technical Requirements on our website prior to watching the video. A certificate of completion will be provided for your records. At this time, you will need to take a screen shot of your certificate (please see the Tips and Technical Requirements document for more information). Your certificate will not include your name or have a date. You will also attest to the completion of the course at the time of your license renewal. As with all CME, records of completion should be kept in case of an audit ( OAC 4731-10-08 ). If the board discovers you failed to report a colleague’s misconduct, you may be disciplined by the board, up to and including permanent license revocation, and you may be ordered to pay fines up to $20,000 . If you have observed inappropriate behavior or suspect another health care professional or colleague has crossed sexual boundaries with a patient, you should contact your local law enforcement immediately and file a complaint with the State Medical Board. To file a complaint you can visit med.ohio.gov , call the board’s confidential complaint hotline at 1-833-333-SMBO (7626) or visit elicense.ohio.gov . Remember, provisions in the Ohio Revised Code make all complaints received by the board confidential. If you have licensing or CME questions, please email email@example.com .