Recent News

rss

Important Information

from the State Medical Board of Ohio

Holiday Office Closure 1/21/19

The Medical Board's office will be closed on Monday, January 21 in honor of Martin Luther King Jr. Day. The office will reopen at 8 a.m. on Tuesday. 

Cosmetic Therapy Exam Set for March 25

The date of the next Cosmetic Therapy exam is Monday, March 25. The application must be submitted before 5 p.m. on Monday, March 11. Click here for information and to submit an application.

Statement from the State Medical Board of Ohio About Social Media Posts

Recent media reports have indicated a former resident in training made disparaging remarks on social media. The individual’s application for a training certificate stated the Cleveland Clinic as her training program. By removing this resident from their program, the Cleveland Clinic eliminated her ability to practice medicine at this time. While the individual’s training certificate may remain in “active” status, she does not have the authority to practice in Ohio because she is not part of an accredited program.

 

Ohio law makes all complaints and investigations of the State Medical Board confidential so the board is unable to share any additional information at this time. Discipline against a certificate holder or licensee can range from a reprimand to permanent revocation- meaning they are never able to practice again in Ohio.

 

It is the mission of the State Medical Board of Ohio to protect the health and safety of all Ohioans. Malicious acts and threats of patient harm go against the Medical Practices Act and are denounced by the board.

December 2018 eNews

The December 2018 issue of the Medical Board's eNews is available. Here are the highlights:

  • New Rules for Chronic and Subacute Pain

  • Dietetics Jurisprudence Module Available

  • Respiratory Care Continuing Education on Laws and Ethics

  • New Email Address for Licensure, CME & Renewal Inquiries

  • 2019 Medical Board Officers

  • 2019 J-1 Waiver Program Application Cycle Now Open

  • Medical Marijuana - New Video for Patients and How-to Video for the Patient Registry

  • Upcoming Holiday Office Closure

Click here for all of the details.

 

Specify Alternate Text

Holiday Office Closure 1/1/19

The Medical Board’s office will be closed on Tuesday, January 1, in observance of New Years Day. The office will reopen on Wednesday at 8 A.M.

Newly Adopted Rule for Chronic and Subacute Opioid Prescriptions Effective 12/23/18

Starting December 23, 2018, Ohio physicians and physician assistants will need to follow new regulations when prescribing opioids for the treatment of long-term pain (lasting 12 weeks or more) and subacute pain (lasting between six and 12 weeks).

The new rules establish the following check points, not limits, to ensure appropriate prescribing:

  • 50 MED: prescribers are required to re-evaluate the status of the patient’s underlying condition causing pain, assess functioning, look for signs of prescription misuse, consider consultation with a specialist and obtain written informed consent from the patient.

  • 80 MED: prescribers need to look for signs of opioid prescription misuse, consult with a specialist, obtain a written pain-management agreement and consider a prescription for naloxone, the lifesaving overdose antidote.

  • 120 MED: in order for prescribers to prescribe a dosage that exceeds 120 MED (unless the patient was already on a dosage of 120 MED or more prior to December 23, 2018) there must be a recommendation from a board certified pain medicine physician or board certified hospice and palliative care physician that is based upon a face-to-face visit and examination. There does not need to be a recommendation if the prescribing physician is himself/herself board certified in pain medicine or hospice and palliative care.

The rules do not apply to patients receiving medication for terminal conditions or those within a hospital or in-patient setting where they are closely monitored. They also take into consideration patients who are already being treated for chronic pain by not establishing a maximum dose or duration of treatment. For patients that are already being treated with opioids for chronic pain, medical standards of care still apply, however, these patients will not be required to consult with a pain management specialist unless dosages increase.

 

The specific requirements can be found in Ohio Administrative Code 4731-11.

4731-11-01 Definitions

4731-11-02 General provisions

4731-11-14 Prescribing for subacute and chronic pain

 

The old chronic pain rules in Chapter 4371-21 of the Ohio Administrative Code are rescinded as of December 23, 2018.

 

Opioid Prescriptions for Chronic and Sub-acute Pain (OAC 4731-11) -  effective December 23, 2018

Previous Chronic Pain Prescription Rules (OAC 4731-21) - rescinded December 23, 2018

Overview: Regulations for Chronic and Subacute Opioid Prescriptions

 

 

Specify Alternate Text

Upcoming Office Closures

The Medical Board will be closed on the following dates in December and January:

  • December 25

  • January 1, 2019

  • January 21, 2019

Our office will reopen at 8 AM on the day following each of these closures.

 

November 2018 eNews

The November 2018 issue of the Medical Board's eNews is available. Here are the highlights:

  • License Expiring January 1? Renew Now

  • Communications to Prescribers Regarding OARRS and ICD-10 Code Compliance

  • New Rules Addressing PA Prescribing Practice

  • Ludy appointed to Dietetics Advisory Council

  • Medical Marijuana - New Videos, FAQs and CTR Applications

  • Upcoming Holiday Office Closures

Click here for all of the details.

Deadline Today to Apply for December 17th CT Exam

The date of the next Cosmetic Therapy exam is Monday, December 17, 2018. The application must be submitted before 5 p.m. today. Click here to submit an application.

 

Specify Alternate Text

License Renewal Deadline 1/1/19

Licenses will expire on January 1st for physicians, massage therapists and cosmetic therapists with a last name beginning with E, F and G. If your license is not renewed by that date, your license expires and you are not allowed to practice with an expired license. Physicians with an expired license will be unable to log on to OARRS.

 

Use the self-serve portal to renew your license at elicense.ohio.gov. Contact the renewal department at license@med.ohio.gov if you need help with your renewal.

 

Please keep in mind that the Medical Board’s office will be closed on Tuesday, December 25 and Tuesday, January 1st. Renewal assistance will not be available those days.