Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

October 2021

Each participating Compact state sends two representatives to the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission. These commissioners must be either a physician member of a medical or osteopathic physician licensing board, a public member or an executive director/administrator of such licensing board. 

At the State Medical Board of Ohio's board meeting on October 13, 2021, Executive Director Stephanie Loucka and Dr. Michael Schottenstein were appointed as commissioners to the IMLC. Ms. Loucka will serve as a Budget Committee Member and Dr. Schottenstein will serve as a Communications Committee Member.


September 2021

Senate Bill 6, signed into law by Governor DeWine on June 29, 2021, authorizes the State Medical Board of Ohio (SMBO) to enter into the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact. Ohio becomes the 35th state to become a member of the Compact. Physicians (MDs and DOs) from any state with Compact membership, including Ohio, who meet the qualifications will be eligible for licensure in any other participating state. Senate Bill 6 gives the SMBO until September 29, 2022 to implement the system to begin processing and issuing licenses through this path.

The board has created internal work groups to assist with the establishment and implementation of this new licensure path. Report-outs from the internal work groups are shared at the board’s monthly meeting.

The SMBO looks forward to working as part of the Compact to create an additional avenue for the licensing of physicians. We will keep you and your associations aware of our implementation plans as they develop over the next year. Those plans will include a ‘go live’ date for Ohio, as well as instructions on how to participate.

Additional information on the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact can be found here. If you have additional questions, please email


Helpful links

Interstate Medical Licensure Compact homepage