Training Certificate- MD, DO, DPM

Training Certificate Application

On This Page:

Application Information

Criminal Offenses

Application Withdrawal or Abandonment

Practice Limitations

Multi-Hospital Rotations

Mid-Year Program Changes

Certificate Renewal

Revocation of a Training Certificate



Forms and Helpful Links



Applicants must complete the training certificate application and pay the $130, nonrefundable fee online at

Effective September 29, 2017, newly issued training certificates are valid for three years.

First-time eLicense users must register in the system:


Overview of Application

  • Resume of Activities

    • List all activities from medical school graduation to the present time.

    • Even if not working, indicate your activities and address for that time.

  • Additional Information Questions

    • If you answer YES to any of the questions, submit detailed supporting documentation.

    • Examples: court pleadings, court or agency orders and institutional correspondence and orders.

  • Certification of Training Program

  • Verification of License

    • Provide verification of any licenses held in a state/province other than Ohio. You will need to verify any license to practice medicine or osteopathic medicine, including a temporary license, training certificate, educational permit or another license or certificate, whether the license is current or not. Have the licensing authority email the verification directly to the State Medical Board of Ohio at​

In the event that the board is unable to issue a training certificate before the start date of your training program, an acknowledgement letter will be issued to you. This acknowledgement is:

  • proof that your application has been received by the board and that you are legally authorized to participate in your training program while your application is being processed.

  • valid for 120 days and authorizes you to participate in a training program, which provides adequate time for the Medical Board to review and issue a training certificate.


Please note: the Medical Board is unable to confirm receipt of supporting documents prior to an application being submitted. 

Once an application has been submitted, any documents that have been previously received will be attached to the application. Please allow the board 10 business days to perform an initial review of your application. After that time, you may check the status of your application by logging into eLicense and navigating to your license application. Select the Options tab and the Review Status option. Any outstanding items will be listed in the ‘Comments’ section at the bottom of the page.


Criminal Offenses

Q: What must be disclosed on the application regarding arrest/criminal history?

A: If you have ever been arrested, charged, or convicted of a misdemeanor or a felony you must disclose the incident(s) on the application, regardless of whether the criminal records were subsequently sealed or expunged.  This includes serious traffic offenses such as reckless driving, driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, hit and run, evading a peace officer, failure to appear, and driving under suspension. Matters in which you were diverted, deferred, pardoned, or pled nolo contendere must also be disclosed.  If you are in doubt as to how to respond to the application questions, full and honest disclosure is recommended.


Failure to provide truthful responses to the questions on the application may result in disciplinary action up to, and including, permanent denial of your application.

Explanatory Statement Disqualifying Offense List 

Disqualifying Offense List 

Application Withdrawal or Abandonment

  • Once submitted, an application cannot be withdrawn without the approval of the board.

  • The board may abandon an application if the applicant fails to complete the application process within six months of initial application filing.

  • Fees submitted are neither refundable nor transferable, even if you have been permitted to withdraw your application or if you reapply after your application has been abandoned.


Practice Limitations

  • Acknowledgment letters and training certificates allow you to perform such acts as may be prescribed by or incidental to your internship, residency or clinical fellowship program.

  • You are not entitled to otherwise engage in the practice of medicine and surgery or osteopathic medicine and surgery in this state.

  • You must limit activities under the acknowledgement letter and training certificate to the programs of the hospitals or facilities for which the training certificate is issued.

  • You may train only under the supervision of the physicians responsible for supervision as part of the training program.


Multi-Hospital Rotations

Residents and clinical fellows who rotate through multiple hospitals on a month-to-month basis as part of their training program or clinical fellowship need only apply for one training certificate during the training year.  


Mid-Year Program Changes

  • If you change programs, complete the Training Program Change form and have the new program email it directly to the Medical Board at

  • Do NOT complete a new training certificate application.

  • Acknowledgment by the board of receipt of a Notification of Change in Program will be required prior to your starting the new training program.


Certificate Renewal

A training certificate may be renewed for one additional three-year period.

Training Certificate Renewal Fee: $100.


Revocation of a Training Certificate

A training certificate may be revoked by the Board upon proof satisfactory to the Board that you have engaged in practice in this state outside of the scope of the internship, residency or clinical fellowship program for which the training certificate has been issued; or upon proof satisfactory to the Board that you have engaged in unethical conduct or otherwise violated Ohio Revised Code 4731.22.


  • Be at least 18 years of age

  • Have been accepted or appointed to participate in this state in one of the following:

    • An internship or residency program accredited by either the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education of the American Medical Association, the American Osteopathic Association, the Council on Podiatric Medical Education or the American Podiatric Medical Association; or

    • A clinical fellowship program at an institution with a residency program accredited by either the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education of the American Medical Association, the American Osteopathic Association, the Council on Podiatric Medical Education or the American Podiatric Medical Association that is in a clinical field the same as or related to the clinical field of the fellowship program.

  • An elective clinical rotation that lasts not more than one year and is offered to interns, residents, or clinical fellows participating in programs that are located outside this state and meet the requirements of one of the above.

Applicants must meet all eligibility requirements at the time an application is submitted. Applications submitted by individuals who do not meet eligibility requirements are subject to denial by the board. Application fees are not refundable and an applicant will be required to reapply once eligibility requirements can be met.


Initial Application Fees

Application $130.00

Transaction fee $3.50

Total due at submission $133.50

Forms and Helpful Links

Training Program Certification

Training Program Change Form

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)

American Medical Association (AMA)

American Osteopathic Association (AOA)

American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA)

Council on Podiatric Medical Education (CPME)

Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG)