Skip Navigation the board
State Medical Board of Ohio

 

massage therapists

 

 

 


 

 


massage therapy licensure information

licensee profile & status

newly licensed massage therapists

on-line change of address

on-line license renewal

on-line verification form

lost wallet or wall certificate

name change affidavit

MT license application

eligibility for Ohio licensure

information for massage schools & students

examination

treatment & compliance

policy

massage therapy advisory committee

calendar

minutes


faq

frequently asked questions

statutes

rules

 

 

massage therapy Licensure Information

Ohio was the first state to license the practice of massage, and the first applicant was licensed in 1916. Ohio is unique in that it defines massage therapy as a "limited branch of the practice of medicine."

Criminal Background Check required for initial license and license restoration applications received on or after March 24, 2008.


Verification of Ohio license
New Forms and Fees for Physicians and Limited Branch practitioners


Beginning October 19, 2009, the State Medical Board of Ohio is charging a $50.00 fee to complete and send a letter of good standing or license verification to another State Board, Canadian Province or other jurisdiction. The Board will verify both the Ohio training certificate and the permanent license for the same fee if the practitioner held both licenses in Ohio.

If you trained in Ohio prior to 1999 with a “temporary” license, the Board will send a verification memo and the fee of $50.00 is not required. If you have questions regarding the forms or fees, you may call the CME and Renewal department at 614-728-3113, or email med.record@med.state.oh.us

In addition, the Board will charge a $35.00 fee to process a request for a duplicate wallet card. Please go to the link for the affidavit for a wallet card at http://med.ohio.gov/md_lost_certificate_card.htm, download the affidavit, and submit it with a check or money order for $35.00.

 

Newly Licensed

The list of applicants who passed the December 6, 2011 State Medical Board of Ohio Massage Therapy Licensing Exam will be posted on Friday, January 20, 2012 after 8 am.  This list will also include the license number of each individual who has passed the exam.


Start online verification

 

NEW - Staggered Limited License Renewal

 

 

info

home




licensee profile & status
treatment and compliance  
position statements
Coroner's Reporting form
medical board public records policy
professional guidelines
Ohio revised code
Ohio administrative code

   
 


30 East Broad Street, 3rd Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215-6127 | Telephone: (614) 466-3934 | Fax: (614) 728-5946
Complaint Forms: (800) 554-7717 | Licensure Verification: (800) 357-7720