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STATE MEDICAL BOARD OF OHIO 

CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION (CME) 

 

DOCTOR OF PODIATRIC MEDICINE  

(DPM) 

LAST NAME BEGINS WITH THE LETTERS 

S 
 

 

 
A. INTRODUCTION 
 
This booklet contains important information on the mandatory Continuing Medical Education 

(CME) program which has been certified by the Ohio Podiatric Medical Association (OPMA), 

Doing Business As the Ohio Foot and Ankle Medical Association (OHFAMA), and approved by 

the State Medical Board of Ohio (Board). CME requirements are imposed by Ohio law as 

enacted by the Ohio General Assembly.” 

 
B. OUTLINE OF PROGRAM 

 

For those individuals whose original last name of record with the Board begins with the letter S, 

the CME program consists of two categories, Category 1 and Category 2.  A description of 

Categories 1 and 2 is contained in the CATEGORIES OF ACCEPTABLE CME (See Page 2).  

Between October 2, 2015 and October 2, 2017, at least 40 hours of CME MUST be earned in 

Category 1, although the total 100 hours MAY be earned in Category 1.  There is a limit of 60 

hours of CME activity falling within Category 2.  If you have been licensed during the 

registration period, see Page 2.   If you have been ill or out of the country during the 

registration period, see Page 4. 

 
The categories of acceptable CME for licensure are based upon those outlined by the Council 

for Podiatric Medical Education and the Ohio Foot and Ankle Medical Association (OHFAMA) 

CME Program and as are set forth in their entirety the CME PROGRAM AS CERTIFIED BY 

OHFAMA AND APPROVED BY THE BOARD (See Page 5). 

 
WHEN UNDERTAKING A CME PROGRAM, BE CERTAIN TO ASCERTAIN FROM THE 

SPONSOR OR CO-SPONSOR WHETHER THAT ACTIVITY WILL BE CREDITED 

TOWARD THE PODIATRIC CATEGORY 1 OR CATEGORY 2 REQUIREMENT.  IF 

NECESSARY, YOU MAY CONTACT THE OHFAMA FOR MORE INFORMATION. 

CONTINUING EDUCATION CONTACT HOURS ARE 60 MINUTE PERIODS AND 

CONSIST OF INTERACTION BETWEEN A PARTICIPANT AND FACULTY, OR 

BETWEEN A PARTICIPANT AND MATERIALS THAT HAVE BEN PREPARED TO 

RESULT IN LEARNING. 
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Podiatrists wishing to have courses/programs considered for continuing education approval may 

complete a CME Approval Request Form and send the required materials to: 

 
CME Committee 

Ohio Foot and Ankle Medical Association 

1960 Bethel Rd, Ste 140 

Columbus, Ohio 43220 
 

The Committee will evaluate the course/program and advise the remitter in writing of the 

category and number of credits approved.  Requests for evaluation must include a copy of the 

program which clearly identifies the time schedule (including all breaks), the speakers, their 

credentials and complete topics and adjournment time.  Once the course is complete a copy of the 

registration list must be submitted as well. 

 
C. RENEWAL PROCEDURE AND COMPLIANCE WITH CME REQUIREMENTS 

 

The Board, during the first week of J u l y  2 0 1 7 , shall mail an application for registration to 

every podiatrist whose last name begins with the letter S who is registered to practice podiatry.  

The application shall be such as to contain proper space for the applicant’s signature and the 

insertion of the required information, including a statement that the applicant has fulfilled the 

CME requirement imposed.   No documentation need be submitted with renewal registration. 

 
In order to fulfill renewal requirements, a podiatrist must do the following: 

 
1) Complete the requisite number of hours of approved CME. 

2) Certify upon the license renewal application card that CME requirements have been 

met. 

3) Forward the signed renewal card and renewal fee to the State Medical Board. 

4) In the event of an audit, the licensee must be able to provide documentation of all CME 

courses attended. 
 

In  the year following license renewal,  a random selection of physicians may be selected 

for audit to determine that they have met the CME requirement.  It is imperative that each 

doctor maintain accurate records of CME activities for purposes of possible audit. 

 
D. DOCUMENTATION OF ACCEPTABLE CME 

 

Category 1 CME activities with accredited sponsorship must meet Board approval.   At least 

40 credits MUST be earned in Category 1.  The total 100 credits MAY be earned in this 

category.  The chart below lists examples of Category 1 CME documentation that may be 

helpful. 
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E. CME  REQUIREMENTS  FOR  INDIVIDUALS  INITIALLY  LICENSED  DURING  

THE  REGISTRATION PERIOD 

 

Podiatrists initially receiving licenses in the interim period during the registration period need 

not complete the full 100-hour requirement.   The chart below indicates the number of hours 

they will be required to accumulate before the renewal registration.  Credits earned during the 

registration period before actual licensure is issued CANNOT be counted for interim CME 

requirements.  Only those hours earned from the date of licensure forward may be counted. 

 

• Individuals licensed between October 2, 2015 and October 1, 2016 must earn a total of 50 

credits of CME. At least 20 credits of CME MUST be earned in Category 1, although the 

total 50 credits MAY be earned in Category 1. There is a MAXIMUM of 30 credits for CME 

activities falling within Category 2. 

 

• Individuals licensed between October 2, 2016 and March 31, 2017 must earn a total of 25 

credits of CME. At least 10 credits of CME MUST be earned in Category 1, although the 

total 25 credits MAY be earned in Category 1. There is a MAXIMUM of 15 credits for CME 

activities falling within Category 2. 

 

• Individuals licensed between April 1, 2017 and October 1, 2017 WILL NOT be required to 

complete any CME requirements prior to registration, but are required to submit application 

for relicensure. 

 

 

 

 

 

DPM DOCUMENTATION - CATEGORY 1 

 

ACCEPTABLE 
 

 Program certificate or letters.  

Documentation must show name of 

program, sponsor, doctor’s name, dates, 

number of hours and indication of 

accreditation. 

 
 Letters  from  residency  or  fellowship  

program. Must show dates of participation 

and name of doctor. 
  

 

UNACCEPTABLE 
 

 Seminar or meeting brochures alone. 

 
 Notes  or  letters  not  written  on  

appropriate letterhead. 

 
 Payment receipts. 

 

 Seminar or meeting brochures alone. 

 
 Notes  or  letters  not  written  on  

appropriate letterhead. 

 
 Payment receipts. 
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DATE LICENSE INITIALLY RECEIVED 

CATEGORY 

1 

CREDITS 

CATEGORY 

2 

CREDITS 

TOTAL 

REQUIRED 

CREDITS 

October 2, 2015 to October 1, 2016 20 minimum 30 maximum 50 

October 2, 2016 to March 31, 2017 10 minimum 15 maximum 25 

April 1, 2017 to October 1, 2017 0 minimum 0 maximum 0 

 

F. LICENSE RENEWAL 
 

All podiatrists registering for each renewal must comply with the CME requirements as outlined 

herein.  NO EXCEPTIONS EXIST FOR THOSE PODIATRISTS CURRENTLY NOT 

WORKING IN THE MEDICAL PROFESSION OR WHO ARE RETIRED. 

 
During the year immediately following renewal, a random sample of doctors will be selected for 

audit to determine if the CME requirement has been met.  It is imperative that you maintain 

accurate records of CME activities for purposes of possible audit. 

 
No provisions exist for reciprocity of CME requirements for re-registration between Ohio and 

other states. 

 
G. REQUESTS FOR PARTIAL EXEMPTION 

 

Partial exemptions can be granted on an individual basis only to those who have been ill or 

out of the country FOR MORE THAN SIX CONSECUTIVE MONTHS during the 

registration period.   The illness or absence from the country must have affected one’s 

reasonable opportunity to participate in CME activities.  A total of five hours (two from 

Category 1 and three from Category 2) will be subtracted from the 100-hour requirement  for  

each  month’s  exemption  which  is  approved.    Requests  for  exemption  under  the  above 

provisions should be made in writing to the Board at the following address. 

 
State Medical Board of Ohio 

Continuing Medical Education Exemption 

30 E. Broad St, 3
rd 

Floor 

Columbus, Ohio 43215-6127 

 
An Exemption Application can then be mailed to you for completion.  It is extremely 

important that you contact the Board as soon as possible concerning exemption requests.  

Requests received late in the registration period will delay processing of your license renewal. 

 
H. OUT-OF-STATE REGISTRANTS 

 

Those individuals residing out of the state must complete the required CME prior to registration 

even though not currently practicing in Ohio. 
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IT IS IMPORTANT TO NOTE THAT THE BOARD WILL RECOGNIZE PODIATRIC 

CATEGORY I CREDIT ATTAINED IN ANY INSTITUTION ACCREDITED FOR CME BY 

THE CPME OR THE OHFAMA, WHETHER THAT INSTITUTION IS IN OHIO OR 

ELSEWHERE. 

 
I. INTERNSHIPS, RESIDENCIES AND FELLOWSHIPS 

 

Fifty hours of Category I credit may be claimed for each full year of internship, residency or 

fellowship training taken in a program that has been approved by the Council on Podia t r ic  

Medical  Education.  Study for a related degree may also be included.  Full-time study for part 

of a year is accepted as one credit hour per week. Credits may not be claimed in any other 

category during the time in which the podiatrist was in full -time training in an approved 

program. 
 

TRAINING MUST HAVE BEEN TAKEN DURING THE REGISTRATION PERIOD TO 

QUALIFY FOR CREDIT.  ANY TRAINING RECEIVED PRIOR TO PERMANENT 

LICENSURE MAY NOT BE CLAIMED. 

CME requirements are imposed by Ohio law as enacted by the Ohio General Assembly.  For 

purposes of this document, the term “certified” describes a process whereby the Ohio State 

Medical Association (OSMA), the Ohio Osteopathic Association (OOA), and the Ohio Foot and 

Ankle Medical Association (OHFAMA) define their respective CME program requirements for 

submission on a periodic basis to the board for approval.  The Board considers approval of each 

association’s CME program requirements which consist of CME courses and activities that are 

deemed acceptable for completing the requisite hours of CME by each licensee. 

 

 
 

IMPORTANT CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION 

INFORMATION 
 

 

CME PROGRAM AS OUTLINED BY THE CPME & OHFAMA AND APPROVED BY 

BOARD 
 

 

CATEGORY I - MINIMUM OF 40 CREDIT HOURS OF THE TOTAL HOUR 

REQUIREMENT ARE MANDATORY UNDER THIS GENERAL CATEGORY.  ANY 

PODIATRIST, IF HE/SHE CHOOSES, MAY FULFILL ALL OF HIS CME REQUIREMENTS 

UNDER THIS CATEGORY. 

 

Category I - Shall consist of courses or Internet programs offered by the APMA or its affiliates 

such as state and  local  affiliates,  Colleges  of  Podiatric  Medicine,  accredited  hospitals,  

recognized  institutions  and organization such AMA, AOA, and their affiliates, American 

Diabetes Association, etc., pertaining to patient care and the practice of podiatric medicine and 

surgery. 
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CATEGORY II - A MAXIMUM OF 60 CREDIT HOURS OF THE REQUIRED 100 HOURS 

MAY BE EARNED UNDER THIS CATEGORY. 

 
Category II - Shall consist of instruction (sponsored pharmaceutical companies, health care 

providers) in medical topics such as self-study format, reading journals, preparation of scientific 

articles, board testing, individual programs and other educational experiences not covered in 

Category I.  This category is meant to encourage the widest possible selection of both formal 

and informal educational activities.  The category also includes topics related to practice 

administration which have direct bearing on patient care and topics related to risk management. 

 

 
 
 
 

 

Revised 01/07/2016 

 

 
SUMMARY OF PODIATRIC CME 

TOTAL REQUIREMENT - MINIMUM 100 CREDITS PER REGISTRATION PERIOD 

 

CATEGORY 1 

(MINIMUM OF 40 HOURS REQUIRED) 
 

Category I - Courses or Internet programs offered by the APMA 

or its affiliates such as state and local affiliates, Colleges of 

Podiatric Medicine, accredited hospitals,  recognized  

institutions  and  organization such AMA, AOA, and their 

affiliates, American Diabetes Association, etc., pertaining to 

patient care and the practice of podiatric medicine and surgery. 

 

CATEGORY  2 

(MAXIMUM OF 60 HOURS ALLOWED) 
 

Category II - instruction (sponsored pharmaceutical companies, 

health care providers) in medical topics such    as    self-study   

format,    reading   journals, preparation  of  scientific  

articles,  board  testing, individual programs and other 

educational experiences  not  covered  in  Category  I.  This 

category is meant to encourage the widest possible selection 

of both formal and informal educational activities.  The 

category also includes topics related to practice administration 

which have direct bearing on   patient   care   and   topics   

related   to   risk management. 

 

FOR QUESTIONS REGARDING  

LICENSE RENEWAL AND CME,  

CONTACT: 

 
STATE MEDICAL BOARD OF OHIO 

CME, RECORDS AND RENEWAL UNIT 

30 E. BROAD ST, 3
rd

 
 
FLOOR 

COLUMBUS, OHIO 43215-6127 

(614) 466-3934 

 

 

FOR QUESTIONS REGARDING CME  

PROGRAM APPROVAL  

CONTACT: 

 

CME COMMITTEE 

OHIO FOOT AND ANKLE MEDICAL ASSN. 

1960 BETHEL RD, SUITE 140 

COLUMBUS, OHIO 43220  

(614) 457-6269 

  


