About the Board

Front row, left to right: Dr. Saferin, Dr. Rothermel, Dr. Steinbergh, Dr. Bechtel, Dr. Edgin, Ms. Montgomery (not pictured).
Back row, left to right: Mr. Giacalone, Dr. Soin, Dr. Factora, Mr. Kenney (term ended 8/17/17), Mr. Gonidakis, Dr. Schottenstein, Dr. Schachat.


The State Medical Board of Ohio is comprised of twelve members: nine physicians (seven MD, one DO, one DPM) and three non-physician public members. The Board members are appointed by the Governor and serve five-year terms. Appointment terms are staggered to provide continuity and Board members may be reappointed. Two members are selected by their peers on the Board to serve as the Board’s Secretary and Supervising Member who oversee the Board’s investigatory and enforcement processes. The Medical Board meets each month in the Administrative Hearing Room on the 3rd floor of the Rhodes Office Tower, 30 East Broad Street, Columbus, Ohio. Meeting agendas and minutes are available on the Board’s website.


Board Committees

The Medical Board addresses a variety of issues through its standing committees. Committees formulate recommendations that are forwarded to the full Board for action. Committee meetings are generally held the day of the monthly Board meeting and committee agendas are posted on the Medical Board’s website. Board actions on committee recommendations are included in the Board meeting minutes.

Board Officers

  • Robert P. Giacalone, President
    Dublin, OH
    Consumer Member
    Term: 10/29/2013 – 7/31/2018

  • Andrew P. Schachat, MD, Vice President
    Shaker Heights, OH
    Term: 7/2/2014 – 3/18/2019

  • Kim G. Rothermel, MD, Secretary
    Columbus, OH
    Pediatrics and Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
    Term: 5/19/2014 – 3/18/2022

  • Bruce R. Saferin, DPM, Supervising Member
    Toledo, OH
    Term: 9/10/2013 – 12/27/2022

Board Members

  • Mark A. Bechtel, MD
    Columbus, OH
    Term: 1/3/2017 – 3/18/2021

  • Richard A. Edgin, MD
    Columbus, OH
    Term: 8/11/2015 – 3/18/2020

  • Ronan M. Factora, MD
    North Royalton, OH
    Internal Medicine and Geriatric Medicine
    Term: 8/12/2016 –

  • Michael L. Gonidakis
    Dublin, OH
    Consumer Member
    Term: 10/29/2012 – 7/31/2022

  • Betty Montgomery
    Columbus, OH
    Consumer Member
    Term: 11/15/2017 – 7/31/2022

  • Michael Schottenstein, MD
    Columbus, OH
    Child & Adolescent and General Psychiatry
    Term: 6/12/2015 – 3/18/2018

  • Amol Soin, MD, MBA
    Centerville, OH
    Pain Management
    Term: 4/17/2013 – 3/18/2018

  • Anita M. Steinbergh, DO​
    Columbus, OH
    Family Practice
    Term: 7/8/1993 – 4/25/2018